Planning to travel? There are more than 40 countries that recognize the UAE driving license

If you are planning to travel abroad and are interested in renting a car, it’s important to know that you can simply use your UAE driver’s license in many countries that recognize it.

The UAE’s Ministry of Interior (MOI) offers a convenient online service called ‘Markhoos’ that provides a list of countries where you can drive with your UAE-issued driving license. However, it’s worth noting that this privilege is only applicable if you are on a visit visa. The process for driving in a foreign country as a resident, if you plan to relocate there, may differ depending on the specific country.

By utilizing the ‘Markhoos’ service, you can easily determine whether your UAE driver’s license is valid in your desired destination. This resource simplifies the process of renting a car and ensures that you are well-informed before embarking on your journey.

It’s crucial to stay updated on the regulations and requirements of each country you plan to visit. This will help you avoid any unnecessary complications or legal issues while driving abroad.

List of countries that recognize the UAE driving license


Firstly, as a resident of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) with a valid driving license, you have the convenience of driving in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries. These countries include Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, and Bahrain.

In addition to the GCC countries, you can also utilize your UAE driving license to drive in the following countries while on a visit:

  1. Estonia
  2. Albania
  3. Portugual
  4. China
  5. Hungary
  6. Greece
  7. Ukraine
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Slovakia
  10. Slovenia
  11. Serbia
  12. Cyprus
  13. Latvia
  14. Luxembourg
  15. Lithuania
  16. Malta
  17. Iceland
  18. Montenegro
  19. United States of America
  20. France
  21. Japan
  22. Belgium
  23. Switzerland
  24. Germany
  25. Italy
  26. Sweden
  27. Ireland
  28. Spain
  29. Norway
  30. New Zealand
  31. Romania
  32. Singapore
  33. Hong Kong
  34. Netherlands
  35. Denmark
  36. Austria
  37. Finland
  38. United Kingdom
  39. Turkey
  40. Canada
  41. Poland
  42. South Africa
  43. Australia
  44. Israel
  45. Republic of Azerbaijan

What if one is traveling to a country, not on the list?

If the country you are traveling to is not on the list, you must apply for an International Driving License (IDL), also known as an International Driving Permit (IDP). However, in order to apply for the license, you must possess a valid local driving license issued in the United Arab Emirates.

As stated on the official website of the UAE government –, you have the option to apply for an IDP through the following entities:

  • Automobile and Touring Club of UAE (ATCUAE)
  • Dubai’s Roads and Transport Authority (RTA) offices
  • Emirates Post offices
  • Dnata office in Sheikh Zayed Road
  • affiliate members of ATCUAE
  • Ministry of Interior through the MOI UAE app available on iTunes and Google Play.

Cost and validity

  • Dh170 plus five per cent Value Added Tax (VAT).
    • The permit is only valid for one year.

Also Read: You can get fined for these 5 violations inside your vehicle in the UAE

Source link